Skip to content

Hair Feature: Meet Damilola

July 31, 2014

Today, I present you Damilola. She started her healthy hair journey for relaxed hair way before I did and is my number one supporter whenever I feel like doing the big chop and going natural. She always says, “Dorothy, don’t cut your hair. Let it grow!” No long, long introduction….meet Dami

1.Tell us about the cool you. I’m Damilola and I have an uber unhealthy obsession with everything HAIR.

2. What’s your hair type? I’m relaxed (currently on a transition to fully texlaxed hair)

3. When and why did you start your healthy hair journey? I started my hair journey sometime in February /March 2013 when I randomly hit up Google searching for tips on growing out my relaxed hair “fast”. To my amazement, I found loads of black women (the likes of Ulovemegz, Sunshine of Hairlista, Traycee of KISS…) with LONG, healthy hair and tips to help me out with mine.

Screenshot_2014-07-25-16-35-36-1

4.  Describe your hair (length, porosity, density, texture) I’m somewhere between collar bone and armpit length. Actually grazing APL. I have type 4 hair with some 3s at my nape. I have low porosity hair that sometimes acts high . LOL, let’s just say my hair is a cross between low and high porosity.

5. What is your current regimen?

*Moisturise and Seal daily, depending on the state of my hair it could be done 1ce, 2ce or even 3ce.

*Deep condition once a week, 2ce if the need arises. I maintain a good protein-moisture balance simply by listening to my hair and understanding what it needs. I don’t follow the rules.

*Clarify and chelate when necessary, like 1ce or 2ce monthly.

*I do tea rinses/hot oil treatments only when I feel like.

*ACV rinses on almost every wash day

*I always pre-poo but on days when I have so much gunk (oils and conditioners) in my hair, I opt out.

*Relax every 5 to 6 months.

*I rarely use direct heat.(at most 2ce a year)

*I’m a huge believer in the inversion method which I just started doing religiously (it’s no gimmick, it works!) and scalp massages too.

*Protective style 99% of the time.

*Supplements – Recently got on garlic oil, fish oil & groganics hair vitamins and I think i’m already seeing progress. I took biotin at the beginning of my hair journey and even though I cannot recall the effect it had on my hair, I can remember the effect it had on face. Biotin broke me out and left me scarred for months! Now, despite the fact that Groganics contains biotin, not one zit has appeared on my face. I think the garlic and fish oil supplements (especially the garlic oil) are to thank for this. I’ve also just started using a mixture of acv and water as a daily toner so we can thank that too!

6. Do you have any hair goals? Have you achieved them? My short term goal is to hit full Armpit Length by my next relaxer in December. Looking to achieve that by protective styling, doing the inversion method and regular scalp massages. My long term goal is to have super healthy hip length hair. (Hello 2017!)

IMG_20140725_155640

7. Have you had any setbacks? How did you bounce back?

My last setback was caused by a deep conditioner that completely knocked my hair off balance. This conditioner was supposed to be a balancing dc but boy did they lie to me! It had no slip and left my hair harder than hay! It took about three moisture treatments for my hair to regain balance. I also like to think ACV had a great role to play in helping my hair bounce back.

 8. What are your favourite protective styles? Box braids, cornrows, halo twists, buns, top knots, French braids, tuck-ins – I live in these.

9 . What are your favourite products?

ORS Creamy Aloe Shampoo, Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioning Repair Cream, Beautiful textures tangle taming leave in conditioner, Scurl no drip activator moisturizer, Parachute Coconut Oil, NOW Sweet Almond Oil, Neem Oil, Pure Shea Butter, ORS heat protection serum, Bragg Organic ACV, Ecostyler Styling Gel, Vitale/ORS Hair Mayonnaise, ORS Replenishing Conditioner, Elastaqp +DPR-11, ORS Lye Relaxer, Castor Oil, Elastaqp Crème Conditioning Shampoo, CON Argan Oil Shampoo…these are just a few of my hairssentials.

10.  What do you love most about your hair?

I love the texture, fullness , colour (my hair is naturally jet black) and overall health. Also, they say the average human sheds 50-100 strands of hair a day, I think I shed about 5-10 strands of hair a day and I’m really grateful to God for that.

IMG_20140708_080118

 

 11. What hair myth did you believe in that you no longer believe? I used to think waist/hip length hair was a Caucasian and Asian thing. Now I know better.The naysayers only keep me more focused and ironically most of them eventually get bitten by the healthy hair bug.

12. How do you deal with people who doubt you? What motivates you to keep going?

I have to say having supportive people who appreciate and notice my progress even when I don’t and never get tired of my constant need to talk hair has kept me going. Also following bloggers/vloggers with great progress has been very helpful. They help me realize that my goal is only a few wash days away.

13. What advice would you give to someone just starting out their journey? I have tipssss!

1. Love your hair at every stage. Ear, chin, neck, shoulder, collarbone, armpit, bra strap…hip length. If you cannot commit to your hair and shower it with all the necessary TLC, it’d be impossible for you to move from one stage to the next. When I first started my hair journey, some people thought I was delusional. They didn’t understand why I was sweating over my short chin length hair. While they saw short hair, I saw long, healthy hair in progress.

2. Never get tired of researching. There are tons of blogs and vlogs out there to help you out. Personal recommendations would be – (BLOGS) rehairducation.com, justgrowalready.com,relaxedhairhealth.blogspot.com, blackhairinformation.com, thirstyroots.com, rachietowaistlength.blogspot.com, belowthawaist.blogspot.com, hairliciousinc.com,naijahaircangrow.blogspot.com,(YOUTUBE) thehappyhairshow, ulovemegz, longnhealthy, journeytowaistlength, Chime Edwards, DearNaptural, Healthy Afro Hair, VivHairTherapyJa, KibibiHair, FreshLengths – the list is endless! They are not just great for acquiring knowledge, they’re also a great way to get inspired, motivated and stay committed.

3. Protective styling should always be the way to go. Let’s save the flaunting for when we finally reach our goals. Don’t let a day’s mistake cost you your entire journey.

4. DIY! Unless you’re lucky enough to find you a trustworthy hairdresser who’s ready to learn and open to change, do it yourself. Some hairdressers can do more damage to your hair in one seating than three flat irons at the hottest point with no heat protectant! Please beware!

5. Keep your hands out of your hair. Hands in hair syndrome is a real disease and even though I’m still recovering, words can’t express how much change I’ve seen in my hair since I made the decision to save the comb for wash days only. Every other day, I let my fingers take charge.

6. Eat healthy, drink loads of water and if you cannot fully commit to a healthy lifestyle(like me), take supplements. Getting on one that’s formulated for the hair would be especially beneficial.

7. For the newbies who think being on a hair journey is too much work, believe me it’s not. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes second nature. For me, caring for my hair is like taking a shower, sometimes you get lazy and don’t want to but you know you HAVE to.

8. Invest in your hair – I saw a post by Oyin Handmade Products that said “your hair is awesome, shouldn’t your products be awesome too?” The answer to this is a ginormous YES!

 

14. Where can we find you on the internet? Follow me on Twitter and Instagram (urbanmakes). To purchase my essentials and more, check out –

https://www.facebook.com/pages/URBAN-MAKES-Hair-Skin-and-Makeup-Online-Store/225485304327180

From → Features, Hair Care

One Comment
  1. Hey! You know I love your blog! Sooooo…I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check out my post called The Liebster Award and answer my question. After that you can nominate 11 of your favs! Kudos!!!!

What say you?

